Mildred’s Temple Kitchen

Hidden away in a little nook in the Liberty/Atlantic area is the super trendy Mildred’s Temple Kitchen.

You’ll definitely wait over an hour to get a seat, but you can wait in their lounge and people watch. By people watch, I suppose I mean watch “yummy mummys” giggle with their babies while jiggling their Tiffany bracelets and balance on Prada heels. You can also have a tasty cocktail or coffee from the bar.

Atmospherically, the place feels like a mix between an art gallery and an Ikea cafeteria. Three cooks plate food atop an alter while the waiters whisk by (all wearing a mandatory costume of Levi’s and black shell toe Adidas sneakers). There are two doors to the back kitchen where cooks come in and out to replentish the plating station.

I still have an uneasy feeling about waiting so long for my breakfast, even though it was tasty and perfect. My advice is to come in, put your name on the waiting list, go to the grocery store to do your shopping for the week and then have them call you when they’re ready. (They did take my number down when I put my name on the list, now I understand why). Just sayin’.

Scones:

IMG_1690

Green Eggs and Ham:

IMG_1688

Huevos Monty:

IMG_1689

The Huevos had an amazing guacamole with tarragon flavouring. I will definitely come back to try dinner. I hope they take reservations.

One Response to Mildred’s Temple Kitchen

  1. feedingmyface says:

    i’m a fan of good food but i dont want to feel like its some sort of fucking hoity toity club that i’m not meant to be a part of

Leave a Reply

