La Brandade de Bacalau, Chorizo et Pistes Juste Aillés

In an effort to attempt cooking the most complicated dishes possible, I picked a recipe from Jaques & Laurent Pourcel’s book “Transparences en Duo”.  My Sous-Chef, Alex lent me the book, which I really appreciate.  It’s a gorgeous book with photography from Michael Hirsch.

IMG_1617

So what is it?

The branade is salt cod poached in milk (flavoured with garlic and bay leaf). (White part)
The black layers are squid ink and nori flavoured tuiles
The middle parts are cooked chiorizo
The sauce is calms pulverized and mixed with eggs as an emulsifier.

The problems I ran into were that #1, I don’t have a chinois or tamis.  I mashed ingredients through the best sieve I have. Problem #2, I can’t find chiorizo that is as big as the photo.  Maybe they mean pancetta?  I’m confused.  Problem #3, I don’t really like squid.  I’ve tried.  I actually hate it.  I think it’s awful even when cooked by the most fancy establishment.

Not only was cooking this dish a challenge, translating a recipe was quite a task itself!

I have followed with a printable link to the direct google translation and the original French text.

41d3Ayj--zL._SS400_2009-11-02_1053

Printable recipe.

5 Responses to La Brandade de Bacalau, Chorizo et Pistes Juste Aillés

  1. Kristen says:

    Wow! How’d it turn out? Sounds tasty, too.

  2. gringogidget says:

    It was delicious! I guess I didn’t note that the top photo is my photo.

  3. Kristen says:

    You’re a genius.

  4. gringogidget says:

    Oh, stop.
    All it is – is a lot of dedication and effort 🙂

  5. Hi! The recipes here are fanstastic. Thanks for having this site. I found your site while looking for another one on Bing. I don’t have time to read all the recipes right now, but I have bookmarked your site and will come back very soon to see your latest updates. I love reading about cooking, it is my favorite past-time. I can’t wait to try them out on my family. They think I’m crazy (and maybe they are right lol) when they see me at work in the kitchen. Visit my site if you’d like to read more. Thanks again – great site!

Leave a Reply

