I’m back!

I’ve been in London for almost a month and now I am back!
I did a lot of exciting things there.

What soon became a favourite is a supermarket called Waitrose. Their freshness, packaging and selection are incredible.  I also now miss buying wine in the supermarket.  Sigh.

My next few posts will be about the food related things I did whilst abroad.  

Today I wanted to share with you a recipe I made for my friends that was soul warming and ridiculously delicious. It’s easy and doesn’t take a lot of time to prepare. Try it tonight for dinner!

Vegetarian Tom Yum (Soup)

 

Ingredients:

1/2 Entire bulb of garlic
2 Sticks of lemongrass 
A knob of ginger the size of your thumb
Zest of one lime (or lime leaves if you can find it)
2 – 3 Red chilies 
3 – 4 Small shallots
80 mL Sunflower/grapeseed/nut oil (whatever you have on hand, peanut or sesame is best)
 
400 mL Coconut milk (canned)

For the garnish two handfuls each of raw:

Peas or beans (use frozen if you’re feeling lazy)
Sliced button mushrooms 
Chopped tomato
Bean sprouts
Diagonally cut spring onion 

Juice of one lime
 

 Take the above ingredients in BOLD and pulverize into a paste.  I use a magic bullet or hand blender in a small bowl.  If you don’t have those you can try grating them on a microplane/grater/raper too.  You can keep this paste for a week and make another batch if you feel like it.  It also tastes amazing when you add a tablespoon of this to meat or a salad dressing.  Cold healing, for sure.

Add the paste to a big pot.  Sweat (making sure you don’t brown) the paste to release the flavours for about a minute.  You don’t need much oil because there’s already oil in the paste.  

Throw in a good amount of water.  I used two liters.  If you have a smaller pot you can use less water, etc.  Bring to a soft boil and turn heat down to a simmer (small bubbles).  Add the coconut milk and stir.  Let this simmer uncovered for about 45 minutes.

Scoop liquid into bowls and add remaining ingredients at the last minute (the heat will cook them slightly).  Garnish with parsley, or cilantro (if you like that horrible stuff!) Enjoy!

One Response to I’m back!

  1. dynagrrl says:

    I love Waitrose, too, and miss it. However, you can buy the store’s magazine, Waitrose Food Illustrated at most Great Canadian News stalls and some bigger book stores. It’s expensive, but I love reading it! (I just discovered your blog and I love it!)

Leave a Reply

